X-Ray Equipment Operator In Podiatric Radiography
“X-ray equipment operator” means an individual performing radiography of the human body using dedicated equipment as ordered by an individual authorized by Iowa law to order radiography. These individuals do not qualify for a permit in any other classification…”
“Podiatric x-ray equipment operator” performs radiography of only the foot and ankle using dedicated podiatric equipment. Studies using CT, fluoroscopy, or non-dedicated equipment are prohibited.
“ARRT” means the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist.
“Radiography” means a technique for generating and recording an x-ray pattern for the purpose of providing the user with an image(s) during or after termination of the exposure.
- Please review the flowchart for the steps toward obtaining a permit to practice in podiatry.
- Please follow this link to the X-Ray Equipment Operator in Podiatric Radiography Training Manual .
- The classroom work is completed in an 8 hour session approved by the IDPH. Training is offered at least twice a year. If you are interested in this training, contact one of the schools listed.
- Course work covers radiation biology and protection, image production, equipment operation, anatomy. The certification exam will not be given as part of the classroom training.
- The cost is determined by the instructor ranges from $125 to $150 for 8 hour course.
- The clinical training is conducted by the clinical instructor at the podiatric facility.
- An Iowa licensed podiatrist, general radiologic technologist, limited radiologic technologist in extremities, or x-ray operator in podiatric radiography may be a clinical instructor. The clinical instructor must have a current Iowa permit and two years of radiology experience (except the podiatrist).
- Clinical instruction will include positioning and a minimum of 20 projections excluding the competency projections. All exposures must be directly supervised by the clinical instructor.
- A list of all of the projections completed are to include the date, projection, and any problems or repeats.
- Competency projections are a clinical exam and shall include 10 projections with only 2 of any single projection allowed to count toward the competency projections. All competency testing shall be directly supervised by the clinical instructor.
- Clinical instructors must directly supervise the student before the student has completed the competency for a specific projection. After completing the competency, the clinical instructor may indirectly supervise for that projection. The student may not perform radiography independently until they have received their permit.
- What do I do once I have completed all of the training? Submit an application for the exam. Take the exam. If you pass, submit an application for your permit and the clinical competency letter from your instructor. Once you receive your permit, you may perform radiography independently.
- The IDPH will begin offering an Online Podiatric Radiography class which will meet the requirements of the Bureau and prepare the student to take the department-approved examination. A new class will be offered on the 1st of each month. The cost is $150 plus any other expenses for textbooks or other material the student chooses to buy on their own. If interested in more information or to register for the class contact Matthew Millard at firstname.lastname@example.org.
At least 70% on a department-approved examination. Applicants will need to secure a proctor and return a proctor form to IDPH and complete an Application for the Exam.
Continuing Education Requirements for X-Ray Equipment Operators in Podiatric Radiography
- You must earn 4.0 hours of continuing education (CE) within the biennium indicated on your permit.
- You must report the hours with your renewal application on the year your CEs are due.
- CE is due at the time of renewal. Failure to complete the hours will result in an expired permit and you will not be allowed to perform radiography.
- You may submit proof of activities recognized by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT), the American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) or the Iowa Podiatric Medical Society (IPMS).
- Activities may be lectures or self-studies. The same lecture may be repeated only once in a biennium. The self-study activity may not be repeated.
- Acceptable proof of completion must be documentation signed and dated by the CE provider that includes the participant’s name, title of the activity, approval number for the activity (except those from the APMA or IPMS), dates of attendance, number of contact hours for the activity, the name of the approving organization, and signature of the sponsor or instructor or authorized representative of the sponsor or instructor.
- It is your responsibility to make sure that your proof of completion meets the requirements in #6.
- You must maintain proof of continuing education for at least 3 years.
- Continuing education obtained to satisfy disciplinary or enforcement action or as part of a corrective action plan may not be reported to meet continuing education requirements.
- All permit holders are subject to a department audit at any time.