What Do I Need to Do to Legally Possess and or Use Cannabidiol in Iowa?
There are three ways to legally possess or use medical cannabidiol in Iowa.
(1) Be a patient with a valid Medical Cannabidiol Registration Card. This is an option for persons age 18 and older with a qualifying debilitating medical condition. Each patient must submit a fee of $100 to the Iowa Department of Public Health (department) with an annual application, or if the patient can attest to receiving social security disability benefits, supplemental security insurance payments, or being enrolled in a medical assistance program, the fee is $25. The fee must be submitted by cash or check.
The 2017 Medical Cannabidiol Act specifies that Medical Cannabidiol Registration Cards issued to patients prior to May 5, 2017, remain valid until the expiration date listed on the card. Renewal of an existing card can be done using the Medical Cannabidiol Registration Card application on this website. A link to the renewal form will be available at the bottom of this page starting the week of June 19, 2017.
(2) Be a designated primary caregiver with a valid Medical Cannabidiol Registration Card. This is an option for designated primary caregivers for persons under the age of 18 with a qualifying debilitating medical condition, or primary caregivers of persons age 18 or older who are unable to care for themselves or need assistance to obtain or use medical cannabidiol. The fee for a primary caregiver application is $25. The fee must be submitted by cash or check.
(3) Possess a valid medical cannabidiol registration card or its equivalent, issued under the laws of another state that allows an out-of-state patient to possess or use medical cannabidiol in the jurisdiction of issuance. Iowa law does not permit out-of-state card holders to purchase medical cannabidiol from a dispensary in this state.
Effective June 19, 2017, application forms for Medical Cannabidiol Registration Cards for patients and primary caregivers will be available on this website. In addition to the fee, written certification of the patient's debilitating medical condition is required with each application. That section of the application form must be signed by the patient's health care practitioner and must be submitted as a part of the application. The patient's health care practitioner must also designate primary caregivers, if any, on the application forms.
A Medical Cannabidiol Registration Card is valid for 12 months from the date of issuance and may be renewed annually.