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January 29, 2016 
 
 
 RE: Respiratory Care License Renewal Due Now 
 
Dear Licensed Respiratory Care Practitioner: 
 
It is once again time to renew your respiratory care license. We wanted to take a moment to provide you with 
information about a new option available to you during the renewal period this year. During the 2015 legislative 
session, two new license types were added to Iowa law. These two new license types are Respiratory Care and 
Polysomnography Practitioner and Polysomnographic Technologist. There is a specific provision in the new 
licensing law allowing individuals with active respiratory care licenses to apply for the new respiratory care and 
polysomnography practitioner license during the 2016 renewal period. 
 
On February 1, 2016, the respiratory care renewal period will open. The renewal deadline is Thursday, March 31, 
2016. During this renewal period, respiratory therapists who are already licensed in Iowa will have the option 
of either renewing the respiratory care license or applying for a new dual respiratory care and 
polysomnography practitioner license. You must do one or the other during the renewal period to avoid lapse 
of licensure. If you are considering applying for the new dual license, you should carefully review the 
requirements listed below. Active Respiratory Therapists applying for the new dual Respiratory Care and 
Polysomnography Practitioner license must do all of the following: 
 

1. Apply for the new dual license either online at:  
https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/PublicPortal/Iowa/IBPL/common/index.jsp or by requesting, completing and 
returning a paper application. The application packet request form is available here: 
http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Respiratory-Care/Licensure/Application-Request-Form.   

 
2. Pay the new dual license application fee of $115. ($60 for the respiratory care license renewal and $55 for 

the background check required before the polysomnography credential can be issued) 
 

3. Provide proof of polysomnography training or experience which can be verification of one of the 
following: 
a. Complete a polysomnography program or; 
b. Complete a respiratory care sleep add on program or; 
c. Complete an electroneurodiagnostic program with a polysomnographic track or; 
d. Pass the registered polysomnographic technologist exam administered by the BRPT or; 
e. Pass the sleep disorders specialist exam administered by the NBRC or; 
f. Submit verification of on the job training and competence to perform polysomnography from medical 

director at the employing agency. 

http://www.idph.iowa.gov/
https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/PublicPortal/Iowa/IBPL/common/index.jsp
http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Respiratory-Care/Licensure/Application-Request-Form


Note:  Transcripts must be sent directly to the board from the college or university. Educational programs 
must be accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) or 
the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (COARC).  

 
Applications for the new dual license must be received by March 15, 2016, to ensure the Board office has 
sufficient time to review and process the applications before the respiratory care license renewal period is 
over. If you apply for the new dual license, you do not need to separately renew your respiratory care license.  
 
If you do not apply for the new dual license, you must still renew your existing respiratory care license. To renew 
your existing respiratory care license, do one of the following: 
 

1. Online Renewal: 
a. Go to https://ibplicense.iowa.gov and create an @iowaid account if you haven’t already 
b. Go to https://ibplicense.iowa.gov and choose “Sign in” on the left side of the screen 
c. Complete My Profile information – Click “Submit” 
d. Select Confirm and go to My Licenses 
e. Select RENEW in the Action column 

 
2. Paper Renewal: 

a. Go to http://idph.iowa.gov/licensure  
b. Choose your board from the menu on the left side of the screen. Then select “Licensure” and then 

“Renewal” from the menu on the left side of the screen. 
 
If you have questions about this information, please contact the Board office at PLPublic@idph.iowa.gov or by 
calling at 515-281-0254. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Bureau of Professional Licensure 
Iowa Department of Public Health 
5th Floor, Lucas State Office Building 
321 E. 12th St. 
Des Moines, IA 50319 
Email: PLPublic@idph.iowa.gov  
Phone: (515) 281-0254 
Fax: (515) 281-3121 
Website: www.idph.iowa.gov/licensure  
Online Licensure Services: https://ibplicense.iowa.gov  
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