
Application for Respiratory Care and Polysomnography Licensure  
2016 Biennial Renewal Form 

Iowa Department of Public Health/Bureau of Professional Licensure 
 

PLEASE PRINT       Instructions are found on page 4 
 
1.             2.          
  Last Name                  First Name and Middle Name 
 
3.                 

      Mailing Address 
 
4.             5.        
 City, State, Zip Code                             E-Mail Address 
 
6.           7.         8.    -- --  
 Daytime Phone (Including Area Code)                          Date of Birth   Social Security Number*  
 
9.    Male       Female 10.            
     Gender (optional question)                         If any of your documentation is in a name other than your current name, list the previous names of record. 
 

The following questions must be answered.  If you answer “Yes” to question #11 – #16 below, (1) attach a signed letter of 
explanation providing the details of the incident, (2) attach a copy of any court ordered evaluations, showing completion and 
recommendations, and (3) attach a copy of all official court documents regarding your conviction/malpractice suit, including final 
disposition and/or settlement.  You must answer “Yes” even when a conviction or judgment has been deferred or expunged from 
your record.  SINCE 04/01/2014 HAVE YOU: 
11. Been convicted, found guilty of or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to a felony or misdemeanor crime 
(Other than minor traffic violations with fines under $500)?  

    Yes         No 

12. Had any judgments or settlements paid on your behalf as a result of a malpractice suit or claim against you?     Yes         No 

13. Been investigated by a licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization; or had a licensing, 
registration, or certification authority or organization institute disciplinary action against you related to your 
professional practice? (If the investigation or action was instituted by this licensing board you may answer 
“NO” to this question). 

    Yes         No 

14. Been disciplined or sanctioned by any licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization 
related to your professional practice? (If this licensing board took the disciplinary action, you may answer “NO” 
to this question). 

    Yes         No 

15. Been engaged in illegal or improper use of drugs or other chemical mood altering substances? (If you are 
currently a participant in the Impaired Practitioner Review Committee, you may answer "NO" to this question.) 

    Yes         No 

 
17. Are you or have you ever been licensed, registered or certified in another state?   Yes    No 
      If yes, list the two-letter abbreviation for the state(s) below. 
 
___________          ___________          ___________          ___________          ___________          ___________       
 
18. Do you currently hold licensure in Iowa? _______________________________________________________ 
 
If yes, license # ___________________________ License Type ___________________________ 
 
19. Are you applying for the polysomnography component of this license through work experience?  
   Yes    No    
If yes, please submit the polysomnography experience verification form completed by the medical director for your 
agency. 

For Office Use Only 
Application fee 

    $60 
Background check fee     $55 
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Respiratory Care Education 
 
20. Have you completed an educational program for Respiratory Care?      Yes    No 

 
21. ___________________________________________________________________     
                             Name of Program 
 
22. ________________________________________        
                           Graduation Date 
 

Respiratory Exam Information 
 

23. Have you passed a National Board Respiratory Care Exam (NBRC) national certification exam in Respiratory 

Care?             Yes    No  

24. Certified Respiratory Therapist Exam (CRT),       Yes    No  

25. Registered Respiratory Therapist Exam (RRT),        Yes    No  

26. Therapist Multiple-Choice Examination?        Yes    No 

 
 

Polysomnographic Education: 
 
27. Have you graduated from a polysomnographic educational program?      Yes    No 
 
28. Have you earned a polysomnographic certificate from the respiratory care program?       Yes    No
  
 
29. Have you earned a polysomnographic certificate from an electroneurodiagnostic program?             Yes    No    
 
 
30.               
                                                                 Name of Program  

 
31. ________________________________________        
                           Graduation Date 
 

Polysomnographic Exam: 
32. Have you obtained a Registered Polysomnographic Technologist credential from the Board of Registered 
Polysomnographic Technologists?       Yes    No 
 
33. Have you obtained a Sleep Disorders Specialist (SDS) credential from the National Board Respiratory Care 
(NBRC)    Yes    No 
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Renewal Questions: 
Mandatory Reporter 
Are you employed in one of these settings?   
Foster care facility, head start program, hospital, intermediate care facility, juvenile detention center, juvenile home, juvenile 
shelter care facility, licensed child care center, mental health center, nursing facility, registered child care home, residential care 
facility, state mental health institute, state training school or substance abuse program. 
  I am not employed in any of these settings.   

  
I am employed in one of these settings, but I do not, in the scope of my professional practice, examine, attend, counsel, or 
treat dependent adults or children in Iowa. 

  
I am employed in one of these settings and, in the scope of my professional practice, I examine, attend, counsel, or treat 
dependent adults and/or children in Iowa and have completed the course(s) within the last five years. 

  
I am exempt from the requirements for mandatory training for identifying and reporting dependent adult and/or child abuse 
because I was on active duty in the military during this biennium; 04/01/2014 through 03/31/2016.   

  
I am exempt from the requirements for mandatory training for identifying and reporting dependent adult and/or child abuse 
because I have a physical or mental disability exemption approved by the Board. 

Continuing Education.  
• To review the continuing education rules, go to http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Respiratory-Care/Continuing-

Education 
• You must check the one statement below that applies to you.  
  This is my first renewal after initial licensure, continuing education isn’t required.  

  
I have completed the required 24 hours of continuing education, earned 04/01/2014 through 03/31/2016.  Note: If you are 
reporting continuing education for the first time, you may report hours earned from the date of your initial licensure.  

  

I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I am licensed and reside in another state or district having 
continuing education requirements for my profession.  I have met all continuing education requirements of that state or district 
for practice.  

  

I have been granted an extension of time to fulfill the continuing education requirements or I have been granted an exemption 
by the board (due to a physical or mental disability or illness). My doctor and I have completed the ‘Application for 
Continuing Education Extension/Exemption for Disability or Illness. The application has been mailed to the board office and 
has been approved by the Board. I have or am in the process of completing the requirements of my exemption.   

  
I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I was on active military duty during all or part of this 
continuing education biennium; 04/01/2014 through 03/31/2016.  

 
I certify that I have carefully read the questions on this application and have answered them completely and truthfully.  I declare 
under penalty of perjury that my answers, and all other statements or information submitted by me in this application process, are 
true and correct.  If it is determined at any time that I have provided misleading or false information on or in support of this 
application, I understand that my application may be denied or that I may be subject to disciplinary action and criminal 
prosecution if I am already licensed. 
 
I understand that I am required to update answers or information submitted herewith if the response or the information changes 
during the time period the application is pending.  I also understand that this application is a public record in accordance with 
Iowa Code, Chapter 22 and that application information is public information, subject to the exceptions contained in Iowa law.  
Finally in submitting this application, I consent to any reasonable inquiry that may be necessary to verify the information I have 
provided on or in conjunction with this application.   
 
I attest that I do not have a medical condition which impairs or limits my ability to practice my profession with reasonable skill 
and safety and understand that I must notify the Board should such a condition arise which impairs or limits my ability to practice 
my profession with reasonable skill and safety. 
 
*This information is collected pursuant to Iowa Code Chapters 252J, 261 & 272C.  Failure to provide mandatory information will 
result in license denial.  Privacy Act Notice:  Disclosure of your Social Security Number on this license application is required 
by 42 U.S.C. § 666(a)(13) and Iowa Code § 252J.8(1).   The number will be used in connection with the collection of child 
support obligations and as an internal means to accurately identify licensees, and may be shared with taxing authorities as allowed 
by law. 
 
35.  _____________________________________________________  _____________________ 
                               Applicant must sign here in ink              Date 
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Respiratory Care and Polysomnography Practitioner License 
Documentation Required for Licensure 

 
Individuals applying for the new dual license should carefully review the requirements.  If after review you 
wish to apply for the new dual license instead of renewing your respiratory care license, please complete an 
application online or mail in a completed paper application to the board office along with supporting 
documents by March 15th so the Board will have sufficient time to process your application before your 
respiratory care licensure grace period expires. Once the renewal period ends respiratory therapists will be 
unable to apply for dual license until January 1, 2017. 

 
 Application and fee ($60 + $55 (cost of the FBI and DCI background check) = $115). All 

application fees are nonrefundable. To apply, do one of the following:  
1. Create an account, apply and pay online at: 

https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/PublicPortal/Iowa/IBPL/common/index.jsp, OR 
2. Request an application packet and return it with a check or money order payable to the Iowa 

Board of Respiratory Care and Polysomnography: http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-
Board-of-Respiratory-Care/Licensure/Application-Request-Form  

Verification of any one of the following: 
a. Official transcript showing completion of a polysomnography program accredited by CAAHEP, 

or 
b. Official transcript showing completion of a respiratory care sleep add on program accredited by 

CoARC, or 
c. Official transcript showing completion of an electroneurodiagnostic technologist educational 

program that is accredited by CAAHEP and proof of completion of the curriculum for a 
polysomnographic certificate as an extension of the electroneurodiagnostic educational program. 
or 

d. Passing score on the Registered Polysomnographic Technologist Exam administered by the 
BRPT, or 

e. Passing score on the sleep disorders specialist exam administered by the NBRC, or 
f. Verification from the medical director of the individual’s current employer that the individual 

has completed on-the-job training in the field of polysomnography, and is competent to perform 
polysomnography. 

 Background Check Requirement – (Even if you have completed a background check as part of a 
previous application, a new check will be required as it is statutorily required for the 
polysomnography component of the dual license) Applicants will receive a packet from the Board 
office in the mail after submitting an online licensing application or along with the paper application 
(if requested). The packet includes two items that must be returned to the Board office before the 
license can be issued: 

1. Two fingerprint cards. Take the fingerprint cards to a local law enforcement agency for 
completion. Submit both completed fingerprint cards to the Board office. 

2. Background check waiver form. Read and sign the waiver form. Return it with the completed 
fingerprint cards. 

Mail the completed fingerprint cards and waiver form to: 
 

Board of Respiratory Care & Polysomnography 
Bureau of Professional Licensure 

Lucas State Office Building, 5th Floor 
321 E. 12th Street 

Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0075 

https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/PublicPortal/Iowa/IBPL/common/index.jsp
http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Respiratory-Care/Licensure/Application-Request-Form
http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Respiratory-Care/Licensure/Application-Request-Form
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IOWA BOARD OF RESPIRATORY CARE AND POLYSOMNOGRAPHY 
IOWA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

LUCAS STATE OFFICE BUILDING. 5TH FLOOR 
DES MOINES, IOWA 50319-0075 

 
EXPERIENCE/EMPLOYMENT VERIFICATION 

(Must be completed by medical director) 
 

Applicant name: __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
The above named person has applied for Iowa licensure in Polysomnography. Please complete this form to verify the applicant’s 
eligibility.  
 
1. Name of Agency:______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2. Place of Practice: ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3. Applicant’s job title at agency:  ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
4. Dates of employment:  __________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5. Total number of hours of paid polysomnographic work experience by applicant within the last three years under your 

supervision: ___________________________________ 

6. Brief description of applicant’s practice/duties:  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
7. To the best of your knowledge, is the applicant competent to perform polysomnography?           Yes          No 

 
Medical Director Certification:  
I hereby attest that all the above information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 
 
Medical Director’s name: _________________________________  Title:_______________________________________ 

 
 

Signature: _________________________________  Date: _____________________________________ 
 
 

NOTARY 
 
State of................................................   [County] of..................................................... 
 
 
Signed and sworn to (or affirmed) before me on...........................(Date) by........................................................Name(s) of 
individual(s) making statement. 
 
Signature of notarial officer……………………………………………………….. 
 
       Title of office........................................................ 
Stamp 

My commission expires:..............................................
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