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Electrologist 
Documentation Required for Licensure 

 
 Application and fee ($60). All application fees are nonrefundable. To apply, do one of the 

following: 
 

1. Create account and apply online at: 
https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/PublicPortal/Iowa/IBPL/common/index.jsp, OR 

2. Print, complete and return a paper application with a check or money order payable to 
the Iowa Board of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences: 
http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/Files/Licensure/COS%20APP%20%287.2.13%29.pdf. 
 

 Education or Experience Requirement:  
 

1. Official transcript or diploma sent directly to the Board office from a board licensed 
cosmetology school verifying completion of 425 hours of education, OR 
 

2. Official transcript or diploma sent directly to the Board office from the educational 
program showing completion of a course of study that meets the requirements of Iowa 
Administrative Code 645--61.14(157), OR 
 

3. Official verification of licensure verifying the applicant has held an active license in 
another state for at least 12 of the last 24 months directly preceding submission of the 
application. The license verification must include license issue date, expiration date and 
any pending or past disciplinary action. The verification may be printed from another 
state licensing board’s website if it contains all of the required information. If web based 
verification is not available, the verification must be send directly to the Board office by 
the state(s) where the applicant has been licensed, registered, or certified. If the 
applicant has never been licensed in another state, ignore this item. 
 

 Examination Requirement - Passing score of 75% or higher on the NIC electrology exam.  
 

o Applicants that have been previously licensed in another state and graduated from a 
cosmetology school prior to January 1, 2000, must provide proof of passing the state 
written and practical examination required by the state where the applicant was 
originally licensed. Board staff will determine whether the previous exam meets Iowa 
requirements. If it does not, the applicant will be required to take the NIC exam before 
he/ she can be licensed in the state of Iowa. 
 

o Applicants that have been previously licensed in another state and graduated from a 
cosmetology school after January 1, 2000, must provide proof of passing a national 
theory examination. Board staff will determine whether the previous exam meets Iowa 
requirements. If it does not, the applicant will be required to take the NIC exam before 
he/ she can be licensed in the state of Iowa. 
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