
2016 Renewal of License(s) in the Cosmetology Arts and Sciences Board  
License No  

Last Name, First Name  
Address  

City, State, Zip Code  

E-mail address  

Phone 1  

Phone 2  

*SSN  

Privacy Act Notice: Disclosure of your Social Security Number on this renewal application is required by 42 U.S.C. § 
666(a)(13) and Iowa Code §  252J.8(1).  The number will be used in connection with the collection of child support obligations and 
as an internal means to accurately identify licensees, and may be shared with taxing authorities as allowed by law including Iowa 
Code § 421.18. 

 
Step One - Check the license(s) are you renewing. Enter each license number. 

License Practice Discipline License # Renewal fee with a postmark  
date on or before March 31  

Renewal fee with postmark date 
April 1 – April 30 

 Cosmetology  $60.00 $120.00 
 Electrology  $60.00 $120.00 
 Esthetics     $60.00 $120.00 
 Instructor  $60.00 $120.00 
 Manicure  $60.00 $120.00 
 Nail technology  $60.00 $120.00 

Step Two - What is the renewal fee and when is it due? 
• The renewal fee is $60 per license(s).  Check or money order must be payable to the Iowa Board of Cosmetology. 
• To avoid the late fee, submit a completed, accurate renewal application and renewal fee(s) before the license expiration date of March 31st. The 

board office strongly suggests the application and fee(s) be postmarked on or before of March 1st.  
• A $60 late fee, per license, plus the $60.00 renewal fee, per license is required on all applications postmarked in the grace period. “Grace 

period” means the 30-day period following expiration of a license when the license is still considered to be active.  In order to renew a license 
during the grace period, a licensee is required to pay the $60.00 late fee. 

• The most recent postmark will determine whether the renewal application is late.  This is true even if the application was initially postmarked 
prior to the license expiration date. 

• Renewal applications postmarked after the “Grace period” will not be processed.  The license will automatically be placed on inactive status.   
Inactive License 
• A licensee who fails to renew the license by the end of the grace period has an inactive license.  A licensee whose license is inactive continues 

to hold the privilege of licensure in Iowa, but may not practice cosmetology arts and sciences in Iowa until the license is reactivated. 
• The application for reactivation of an Iowa license must be completed and approved to regain active license status: 

http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Cosmetology-Arts-and-Sciences/Licensure/Reactivation 
Processing 
• Allow four weeks to process the paper renewal.  Once approved, a new wallet card will be sent to you.   
• To receive a paper copy of the current Iowa Law and Administrative Rules include an additional $5.00. To view the current Iowa Law and 

Administrative Rules online go to: http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Cosmetology-Arts-and-Sciences/Laws-and-Rules 
 
Step Three - The Following Six Questions Must Be Answered. 
If you answer “Yes” to any question below, (1) attach a signed letter of explanation providing the details of the incident, (2) attach a copy of any 
court ordered evaluations, showing completion and recommendations, and (3) attach a copy of all official court documents regarding your 
conviction/malpractice suit, including final disposition and/or settlement.  You must answer “Yes” even when a conviction or judgment has been 
deferred or expunged from your record.  SINCE 04/01/2014 HAVE YOU: 
 

Yes No Been convicted, found guilty of, or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to a felony or misdemeanor crime (other than minor 
traffic violations with fines under $500)? 

Yes No Had any judgments or settlements paid on your behalf as a result of a malpractice suit or claim filed against you? 

Yes No Been investigated by a licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization? If the investigation or action was 
instituted by this licensing board you may answer “NO” to this question. 

Yes No Been disciplined or sanctioned by any other licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization related to your 
professional practice? If this licensing board took the disciplinary action, you may answer “NO” to this question. 

Yes No 
Developed a medical condition which in any way impairs or limits your ability to practice your profession with reasonable 
skill and safety? (If you are currently a participant in the Impaired Practitioner Review Committee, you may answer "NO" to 
this question.) 

Yes No Been engaged in illegal or improper use of drugs or other chemical mood altering substances? (If you are currently a 
participant in the Impaired Practitioner Review Committee, you may answer "NO" to this question.) 

 
⇒ If you have completed steps 1, 2, and 3 above continue on side two & complete steps 4, & 5. 



Step Four – The Following Six Continuing Education Questions Must Be Answered  
• Continuing education requirements must be completed prior to renewing the license(s). 
• Continuing education hours must be completed 4/1/2014 through 3/31/2016 if this is your third or more 

renewal. 
• Do not send copies or original continuing education certificates with this renewal.  
• You may be selected for the post renewal continuing education audit.  If selected for the audit, you will be 

required to provide documentation showing compliance with your continuing education license renewal 
requirements.  

• The continuing education rules are available on the bureau’s website:  
http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Cosmetology-Arts-and-Sciences/Continuing-Education 
 

Yes  No This is my first renewal after initial licensure; continuing education is not required. 
Yes  No Renewing One License: I have completed the required 8 continuing education hours of which 

includes 4 hours specific to the practice discipline and 2 hours in the content area of Iowa 
cosmetology law and rules and sanitation. Note: If you are reporting continuing education for the 
first time you may report hours earned from the date of your initial licensure. 

Yes  No Renewing Multiple Licenses -I have completed 4 continuing education hours specific to each 
license practice discipline plus an additional 2 hours in the content area of Iowa cosmetology law 
and rules and sanitation.  Note: If you are reporting continuing education for the first time, you 
may report hours earned from the date of your initial licensure for that specific license. 

Yes  No I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I am licensed and reside in 
another state or district. I have met all requirements of that state or district for practice 

Yes  No I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I have been granted an 
extension of time to fulfill the continuing education requirements or I have been granted an 
exemption by the board (due to a physical or mental disability or illness). My doctor and I have 
completed the ‘Application for Continuing Education Extension/Exemption for Disability or 
Illness. The application has been mailed to the board office and has been approved by the Board. I 
have or am in the process of completing the requirements of my exemption.   

Yes  No I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I served honorably on active 
duty in the military service during all or part of this continuing education biennium; 4/1/2014 – 
3/31/2016. 

 
 
Step Five - Please Read and Sign. 
 
 I certify that I have carefully read the questions on this application and have answered them completely 
and truthfully. I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers, and all other statements or information 
submitted by me in this application process, are true and correct. If it is determined at any time that I have 
provided misleading or false information on or in support of this application, I understand that my license may 
be subject to disciplinary action and criminal prosecution.  
 
 I also understand that this application is a public record in accordance with Iowa Code chapter 22 and 
that application information is public information, subject to the exceptions contained in Iowa law. Finally, in 
submitting this application, I consent to any reasonable inquiry, including a post-renewal audit that may be 
necessary to verify the information I have provided on, or in conjunction with, this application.  

 
Privacy Act Notice:  Disclosure of your Social Security Number on this renewal application is required by 42 
U.S.C. § 666(a)(13) and Iowa Code §  252J.8(1).  The number will be used in connection with the collection of 
child support obligations and as an internal means to accurately identify licensees, and may be shared with 
taxing authorities as allowed by law including Iowa Code § 421.18 
 
 
Licensee sign here         Date 
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