
2016 Iowa Board of Barbering License(s) Renewal  
License No  

Last Name, First Name  
Address  

City, State, Zip Code  

E-mail address  

Phone 1  

Phone 2  

*SSN  

Privacy Act Notice: Disclosure of your Social Security Number on this renewal application is required by 42 U.S.C. § 666(a)(13) 
and Iowa Code §  252J.8(1).  The number will be used in connection with the collection of child support obligations and as an 
internal means to accurately identify licensees, and may be shared with taxing authorities as allowed by law including Iowa Code § 
421.18. 

 
Step Two - Check the license(s) are you renewing. Enter each license number. 

License Practice Discipline License # Renewal fee with a postmark  
date on or before June 30  

Renewal fee with postmark date 
July 1 – July 30 

 Barber  $60.00 $120.00 
 Barber Instructor  $60.00 $120.00 

 
Step Three - What is the renewal fee and when is it due? 
• The renewal fee is $60 per license. Check or money order must be payable to the Iowa Barbering Board. 
• You are responsible for submitting a completed, accurate renewal application and renewal fee before the license expiration date 

of June 30. The board office strongly suggests the application and fee be postmarked on or before June 1.  
• Your renewal must include: (1) the completed renewal application (this form), and (2) the renewal fee. 
When is the late fee due? 
• To avoid the late fee, submit a completed, accurate renewal application and renewal fee(s) before the license expiration date of 

June 30.  
• A $60 late fee, per license, plus the $60 renewal fee, per license is required on all applications postmarked in the grace period. 

“Grace period” means the 30-day period following expiration of a license when the license is still considered to be active.  In 
order to renew a license during the grace period, a licensee is required to pay the $60.00 late fee, per license. 

• Renewal applications postmarked after the “Grace period” will not be processed.  The license will automatically be placed on 
inactive status.   

Inactive License 
• A licensee who fails to renew the license by the end of the grace period has an inactive license.  A licensee whose license is 

inactive continues to hold the privilege of licensure in Iowa, but may not practice as a barber in Iowa until the license is 
reactivated. 

• Reactivation must be completed and approved to regain active license status: http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-
Barbering/Licensure/Reactivation 

Processing 
• Allow four weeks to process the paper renewal.  Once approved, a new cards will be mailed to you.   
• To receive a paper copy of the current Iowa Law and Administrative Rules include an additional $5.00. To view the current Iowa 

Law and Administrative Rules online go to: http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Barbering/Laws-and-Rules 
 
Step Four - The following five questions must be answered. 
If you answer “Yes” to any question below, (1) attach a signed letter of explanation providing the details of the incident, (2) attach a 
copy of any court ordered evaluations, showing completion and recommendations, and (3) attach a copy of all official court 
documents regarding your conviction/malpractice suit, including final disposition and/or settlement.  You must answer “Yes” even 
when a conviction or judgment has been deferred or expunged from your record.  SINCE 07/01/2014 HAVE YOU: 

Yes No 
Been convicted, found guilty of, or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to a felony or misdemeanor crime (other 
than minor traffic violations with fines under $500)? If you have already reported this incident to the licensing 
board you do not need to report it again. 

Yes No Had any judgments or settlements paid on your behalf as a result of a malpractice suit or claim filed against you? 

Yes No Been investigated by a licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization? If the investigation or 
action was instituted by this licensing board you may answer “NO” to this question. 

Yes No 
Been disciplined or sanctioned by any other licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization 
related to your professional practice? If this licensing board took the disciplinary action, you may answer “NO” 
to this question. 

Yes No Been engaged in illegal or improper use of drugs or other chemical mood altering substances? (If you are 
currently a participant in the Impaired Practitioner Review Committee, you may answer "NO" to this question.) 

 

Continue on side two 



2016 Iowa Board of Barbering License(s) Renewal 
 
Step Five – The Following Six Continuing Education Questions Must Be Answered  
• Continuing education requirements must be completed prior to renewing the license(s). 
• If selected for the continuing education audit you will be required to provide documentation showing 

compliance with your continuing education license renewal requirements. For auditing purposes, licensees 
must retain the information for two years after the biennium has ended.  

• The continuing education rules are available on the bureau’s website:  
http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Barbering/Laws-and-Rules  

 
Yes  No This is my first renewal after initial licensure; continuing education is not required. 
Yes  No Renewing a Barber License: I have completed the required 3 continuing education hours of 

which includes one hour in the content areas of Iowa barbering laws and administrative rules and 
sanitation. Continuing education hours must be completed 7/1/2014 through 6/30/2016. Note: If 
you are reporting continuing education for the first time you may report hours earned from the 
date of your initial licensure. 

Yes  No Renewing a Barber and Instructor License: I have completed the required 4 hours in teaching 
methodology in addition to meeting all continuing education requirements for renewal of the 
barber license listed above. Note: If you are reporting continuing education for the first time, you 
may report hours earned from the date of your initial licensure. 

Yes  No I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I am licensed and reside in 
another state or district. I have met all requirements of that state or district for practice 

Yes  No I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I have been granted an 
extension of time to fulfill the continuing education requirements or I have been granted an 
exemption by the board (due to a physical or mental disability or illness). My doctor and I have 
completed the ‘Application for Continuing Education Extension/Exemption for Disability or 
Illness. The application has been mailed to the board office and has been approved by the Board. I 
have or am in the process of completing the requirements of my exemption.   

Yes  No I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I served honorably on active 
duty in the military service during all or part of this continuing education biennium; 7/1/2014 – 
6/30/2016. 

 
Step Six – Certification/Attestation Statement 
 
 I certify that I have carefully read the questions on this application and have answered them completely 
and truthfully. I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers, and all other statements or information 
submitted by me in this application process, are true and correct. If it is determined at any time that I have 
provided misleading or false information on or in support of this application, I understand that my license may 
be subject to disciplinary action and criminal prosecution.  
 
 I understand that this application is a public record in accordance with Iowa Code chapter 22 and that 
application information is public information, subject to the exceptions contained in Iowa law. Finally, in 
submitting this application, I consent to any reasonable inquiry, including a continuing education audit that may 
be necessary to verify the information I have provided on, or in conjunction with, this application.  

 
I attest that I do not have a medical condition which impairs or limits my ability to practice my 

profession with reasonable skill and safety and understand that I must notify the Board should such a condition 
arise which impairs or limits my ability to practice my profession with reasonable skill and safety. 

 
 
 
Licensee Signature         Date 
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