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Continuing Education Guidelines for Licensees 
 
 
Iowa law requires members of every licensed or regulated profession to obtain continuing 

education as a condition of license renewal. (See Iowa Code chapter 272C and Iowa Code section 
105.20)  For each plumbing and mechanical systems board license, the basic requirement is at least 8 
hours of classroom instruction during each three-year licensing renewal period.  For a course to be valid 
for continuing education, both the instructor and the course must be pre-approved by the board.   Please 
see the information below for additional details concerning continuing education requirements. 
 
Hours Required 
Single License –  
Plumbing, HVAC/R, Hydronics, Sheet Metal, 
or Mechanical 

2 hours safety (Iowa Occupational Health & Safety) 
2 hours code (applicable plumbing or mechanical code) 
4 hours discipline (must be in current license discipline only) 
8 TOTAL HOURS 

Multiple Mechanical Licenses –  
Combination of 2 or more licenses in 
mechanical trades (HVAC/R, sheet metal, & 
hydronic systems) 

4 hours safety (Iowa Occupational Health & Safety) 
2 hours mechanical code  
8 hours discipline (from one or any combination of discipline 
licenses held) 
14 TOTAL HOURS 

Multiple Licenses - Plumbing & Mechanical  
Combination of 1 plumbing license and 1 or 
more mechanical licenses 

4 hours safety (Iowa Occupational Health & Safety) 
2 hours mechanical code  
2 hours plumbing code 
8 hours discipline (from one or any combination of discipline 
licenses held) 
16 TOTAL HOURS 

 
Online Courses 
Up to half of the total hours required can be completed through online activities that have been prior-
approved by the board.  The maximum number of hours required for each renewal is 16. 

Mechanical & Specialty Licenses 
• Mechanical trades includes HVAC/refrigeration, sheet metal, and hydronic systems; 
• Disconnect/reconnect specialty licensees – follow requirements for plumbing license; 
• Hearth Systems specialty licensees – follow requirements for mechanical license; 
• Service Tech HVAC specialty licensees – follow requirements for mechanical license; 
• Private school or college maintenance specialty licensees – Considered a sublicense of whatever 

discipline(s) in which the licensee actually practices. 
 

No continuing education hours are required for apprentice licenses or medical gas piping certification.  
Persons with a medical gas certification must ensure they maintain current certification and must maintain 
brazer qualification. 

Iowa Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board 
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Exemptions & Extensions 
A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements for the following reasons: 

• For the first renewal of a person who was licensed as an apprentice in Iowa and successfully 
passed the examination and became licensed as a journeyperson in Iowa; 

• For periods the licensee served honorably on active duty in the military; 
• For periods the licensee resided in another state or district having continuing education 

requirements for the discipline and the licensee met all requirements of that state or district; 
• For periods the licensee was a government employee working in the licensee’s specialty and 

assigned to duty outside the United States; and 
• For periods the licensee was absent from the state but engaged in active practice under 

circumstances approved by the board. 
 

Licensees may also apply for a permissive full or partial exemption for individual cases of exceptional 
hardship or extenuating circumstances, such as a physical or mental disability or illness.  Documentation 
is required and additional conditions may be imposed.  Board rules state that permissive exemptions shall 
only be granted in the most exceptional and extraordinary of circumstances. 

The board may also, in individual cases involving hardship or extenuating circumstances, grant an 
extension of time within which to fulfill the minimum continuing education requirements.  There must be 
documented circumstances beyond the control of the licensee which prevent attendance at required 
activities.  All requests must be made prior to the license expiration date. 

 
Reporting Continuing Education 
 

Continuing education is reported at the time of license renewal.  The renewal application requires 
licensees to enter the board-approved course number, course name, and course date for all classes.  You 
must also indicate the course topic (e.g. safety, code, HVAC, etc.) and the number of hours awarded.  
This information can be found on the certificate of attendance that was provided to you at the end of each 
course. It is very important that you maintain a file of all continuing education courses 
attended. The board does not maintain individual files for every licensee listing the courses you took.  
While instructors do submit rosters to our office, these rosters are used to audit and verify attendance for 
courses and hours self-reported by you at the time of license renewal. If you lose copies of your proof of 
attendance certifications, you should contact the course sponsor/instructor.   
 
Finding Courses 
 

Visit the "Training" link on our website to find a list of upcoming courses and a link to approved online 
courses.  Be advised that not all instructors or course sponsors choose to list their courses on our training 
calendar, so other courses may be available in your area.  You should contact your closest community 
college, trade union or association, or other local instructor to find out if other courses may be available.  
You will need to contact the course sponsor for information on course registration, meeting times and 
locations, obtaining proof of attendance, and the number of hours awarded.  


