On May 12, 2017, Governor Branstad signed legislation expanding the Medical Cannabidiol Act, first enacted July 1, 2014. Today, the Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) filed emergency rules implementing a portion of the new law which provides that a person may recommend, possess, use, dispense, deliver, transport or administer cannabidiol if the recommendation, possession, use, dispensing, delivery, transport and administering of such is in accordance with the law.
Iowa law allows no more than 3 percent of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) – the element of cannabis that produces a “high” – to be contained in medical cannabidiol. The rules enacted today expand the qualifying debilitating medical conditions for which medical cannabidiol may be prescribed. Changes to the law also include a new $100 fee for patients who apply for the required cannabidiol registration card. A reduced patient application fee of $25 applies to persons who participate in a medical assistance program. A $25 fee is required with the primary caregiver application. Iowans will be charged the same fees for renewal of an existing card. The new registration process also requires written certification by a physician regarding the patient’s status of having a qualifying medical condition.
Updated applications for patients and primary care givers will be available on the IDPH website beginning Monday, June 19, 2017.
The expanded law also provides for the selection of up to two medical cannabidiol manufacturers and up to five medical cannabidiol dispensaries in Iowa. The competitive application process for manufacturer and dispensary selection will be coordinated by IDPH. The licensed manufacturers must agree to begin supplying medical cannabidiol to licensed dispensaries in Iowa no later than December 1, 2018.
For more information about the Medical Cannabidiol program, including links to patient and caregiver registration card applications and links regarding the competitive manufacturer and dispensary process, visit https://www.idph.iowa.gov/mcarcp.