Board of Social Work - About Staff & Board

Board Staff

The Iowa Board of Social Work is staffed by a Board Executive and a Secretary in the Bureau of Professional Licensure, Iowa Department of Public Health. Legal services are provided by the Iowa Attorney General's Office.

Contact Information:
Iowa Board of Social Work
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Bldg., 5th Floor
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
Phone (515) 281-0254
FAX (515) 281-3121

Office Hours:
8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Monday through Friday, excluding state holidays

Board Members

The Board is made up of seven members, five who are licensed to practice social work, with at least one from each of three levels of licensure described in section 154C.3, subsection 1, two employed by a licensee under chapter 237, and two who are not licensed social workers and who shall represent the general public.

Board Members:

  • serve three-year terms (unless filling an unexpired term),
  • appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate,
  • serve no more than nine years (three full terms).

Iowa Board of Social Work

  • Neil Nelsen - 2021 (3) Public Member
  • Megan Begley - 2020 (1) Public Member
  • Amy Courneya- 2019 (2) Licensed Independent Social Worker
  • Tony Raymer - 2019 (1) Licensed Independent Social Worker
  • Mark Hillenbrand - 2021 (3) Licensed Independent Social Worker
  • Jody Weigel - 2019 (2) Licensed Masters Social Worker
  • Karilynne Lenning - 2020 (2) Licensed Bachelors Social Worker

How to Become a Board Member

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Board, you just need to fill out the proper forms and submit them.

You can find the information you need through the Governor's Office.