Board of Respiratory Care and Polysomnography - About Staff & Board

Board Staff

The Iowa Board of Respiratory Care and Polysomnography is staffed by a Board Executive and a Secretary in the Bureau of Professional Licensure, Iowa Department of Public Health.

Contact Information:
Iowa Board of Respiratory Care and Polysomnography

Bureau of Professional Licensure

Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Bldg., 5th Floor
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
Email  PLPublic@idph.iowa.gov 
Phone (515) 281-0254
FAX (515) 281-3121

Office Hours:
8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Monday through Friday, excluding state holidays

Board Members

The Board is made up of five members, one licensed physician trained in the respiratory care, two respiratory care practitioners who have practiced for a minimum of six years, one polysomnography technologist who has practiced for six years, and one general public member..

Board Members:

  • serve three-year terms (unless filling an unexpired term),
  • appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate,
  • serve no more than nine years (three full terms).

Iowa Board of Respiratory Care and Polysomnography

  • Dr. Samantha Danielson-Jones, Physician Member
  • Lawrence "Gene" Lilla, Respiratory Care Practitioner
  • Cynthia Duncan, Respiratory Care Practitioner
  • Benjamin Jagow, Public Member

How to Become a Board Member

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Board, you just need to fill out the proper forms and submit them.

You can find the information you need through the Governor's Office.

Application to be mailed to the Governor's Office

Contact Information & Office Hours

Bureau of Professional Licensure
321 E. 12th St.
Des Moines, IA 50319


Phone: (515) 281-0254

Fax: (515) 281-3121

Bureau Website: https://idph.iowa.gov/licensure

Online Licensure Services: https://amanda-portal.idph.state.ia.us/ibpl/portal/

Email: PLPublic@idph.iowa.gov


Office Hours:

8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Monday through Friday, excluding state holidays