Board of Psychology - News & Events
News & Events
Effective October 29, 2008, continuing education hours are required for license renewal. Of the 40 hours required per biennium, 6 hours are prescribed as follows:
For the second license renewal, licensees shall obtain 6 hours of continuing education pertaining to the practice of psychology in either of the following areas: Iowa mental health laws and regulations, or risk management. [Note: continuing education hours are not required for the first renewal of license; however, hours accrued after the license is issued may be applied to the second renewal.]
For all subsequent license renewals, licensees shall obtain 6 hours of continuing education pertaining to the practice of psychology in any of the following areas: ethical issues, federal mental health laws and regulations, Iowa mental health laws and regulations, or risk management.
You may access the current rules in their entirety on the Laws and Rules page.
Effective October 29, 2008, the jurisprudence examination has been eliminated:
Licensure applicants that complete the requirements and pass the national EPPP will be issued a license. If you have applied for licensure and meet the licensure eligibility requirements, contact the Board office if you have not received your license.
For a list of some important references you need to be aware of for your profession, click on the following link: