Board of Mortuary Science - News & Events
Amendments to 645 IAC 99 to 105 are effective November 12, 2008
Summary of changes are as follows:
- Chapter 99 rescinded and administrative processes can be found in bureau chapter 4.
- Chapter 105 rescinded and fees for all 19 boards are located in bureau chapter 5.
- Rule 100.1: Definition of "authorized person" is amended to be consistent with 2008 Iowa Acts, Senate File 473.
- Rule 100.2(4): Allowance is made for Iowa-licensed funeral directors to provide funeral services from an establishment licensed in another jurisdiction.
- Subrule 101.7(1) clarifies that every funeral and cremation establishment devoted to any aspect of mortuary science or cremation services must hold a license issued by the board and an establishment license cannot be issued more than 30 days prior to the opening of a new establishment.
- Subrules 103.3(4), 103.3(12) and 103.4(6) are updated to be consistent with legislative changes in 2008 Iowa Acts, House File 2212, and Iowa Code Supplement section 156.9.
Continuing Education Requirements for 2009 Renewals
Beginning January 1, 2009, hours obtained through independent study are limited to 12 hours. 12 hours of the 24 hours of continuing education required for renewal must be earned by completing a program in which an instructor conducts the class employing either in-person or live, real-time interactive media.
Iowa Law Requirement for New Applicants
Effective July 1, 2007, all applicants for licensure are required to complete a college course of at least one semester hour or equivalent in current Iowa law and rules covering mortuary science, cremation, vital statistics, cemeteries and preneed. Contact a mortuary science college program for availability of course.
Post Audit of Continuing Education
If selected for a continuing education audit, you will be required to provide the following information to the board: Individual certificates of completion issued to you or evidence of successful completion of each program/course from the course sponsor. These documents must contain the course title, date(s), contact hours, sponsor, and your name. It is your responsibility to retain this documentation for two years after each licensure period.