Board of Mortuary Science - About Staff & Board

Board Staff

The Iowa Board of Mortuary Science is staffed by both a Board Executive and a Secretary in the Bureau of Professional Licensure, Iowa Department of Public Health. Legal services are provided by the Iowa Attorney General's Office.

Contact Information:
Iowa Board of Mortuary Science
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Bldg., 5th Floor
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
Phone (515) 281-0254
FAX (515) 281-3121

Office Hours:
8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Monday through Friday, excluding state holidays

Board Members

The Board is made up of four members licensed to practice mortuary science, one member owning, operating, or employed by a crematory, and two members not licensed to practice mortuary science and not a crematory owner, operator, or employee who shall represent the general public.

Board Members:

  • serve three-year terms (unless filling an unexpired term),
  • appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate,
  • serve no more than nine years (three full terms).

Iowa Board of Mortuary Science

  • Rebecca Ervin, Public Member - 2021 (1)
  • Kimberly Doehrmann, FD - 2019 (3)
  • David Langkamp, FD - 2018 (1)
  • Seth Williams, FD - 2021 (1)
  • Carl Linge, FD - 2019 (2)
  • Todd Kale, FD - 2020 (3)
  • Vacant,  Public Member

How to Become a Board Member

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Board, you just need to fill out the proper forms and submit them.

You can find the information you need through the Governor's Office.