Board of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences - About Staff & Board

Board Staff

The Iowa Board of Cosmetology Arts & Sciences is staffed by a Board Executive and a Secretary in the Bureau of Professional Licensure, Iowa Department of Public Health.

Contact Information:
Iowa Board of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Bldg., 5th Floor
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
Phone (515) 281-0254
FAX (515) 281-3121

Office Hours:
8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Monday through Friday, excluding state holidays

Board Members

The Board is made up of a total of seven members. Three who are licensed cosmetologists, one who is a licensed electrologist, esthetician, or nail technologist, one who is a license instructor of a cosmetology arts and sciences at a public or private school and who does not own a school of cosmetology arts and sciences, and two who are not licensed in a practice of cosmetology arts and sciences and who shall represent the public.

Board members:

  • serve three-year terms (unless filling an unexpired term),
  • appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate,
  • serve no more than nine years (three full terms).

Iowa Board of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences

  • Jacquelyn Hein - 2017 (1)
  • Jeff Porter - 2017 (1)
  • Don Nguyen - 2018 (2)
  • Robert Thompson - 2019 (1)
  • Mary Clausen - 2017 (2)
  • Nicole Russell - 2017 (2)
  • Lois Leytem - 2017 (1)

How to Become a Board Member

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Board, you just need to fill out the proper forms and submit them.

You can find the information you need through the Governor's Office.