Board of Athletic Training - About Staff & Board 

Board Staff

The Iowa Board of Athletic Trainers is staffed by both a Board Executive and a Secretary in the Bureau of Professional Licensure, Iowa Department of Public Health. Legal services are provided by the Iowa Attorney General's Office.

Contact Information:
Iowa Board of Athletic Training
Bureau of Professional Licensure
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Bldg., 5th Floor
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075

Email  PLPublic@idph.iowa.gov 
Phone (515) 281-0254
FAX (515) 281-3121

Office Hours:
8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Monday through Friday, excluding state holidays

Board Members

The Board is made up of three members licensed to practice athletic training, three members licensed to practice medicine and surgery, and one member not licensed to practice athletic training or medicine and surgery and who shall represent the general public.

Board Members:

  • serve three-year terms (unless filling an unexpired term),
  • appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate,
  • serve no more than nine years (three full terms).

Iowa Board of Athletic Training

  • Amanda Brown, Athletic Trainer
  • Christopher Wiedmann, Athletic Trainer
  • Christopher Kamm, Athletic Trainer
  • Amanda Brown, Athletic Trainer
  • Audra Ramsey, D.O.
  • Andrew Peterson, M.D.

How to Become a Board Member

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Board, you just need to fill out the proper forms and submit them.

You can find the information you need through the Governor's Office.