X
GO

Post-Examination Licensure Requirements

Congratulations on successful completion of your discipline examination!  To complete the Iowa Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board licensure process, you must now complete a post-examination licensure application.  Please note that application for post-examination licensure cannot be completed online.  You must submit a paper application.  The paper application fee is NOT charged for applications for post-examination licensure.

Please note a 30% discount applies to the fees for active journey and master discipline licenses when purchased in a single transaction. If you will be applying for more than one discipline license, you may elect to wait and apply for all licenses in a single transaction.

General Journeyperson Requirements

  • Must be at least 18 years old.
  • An applicant must have no record of felony conviction relating to the profession as determined by the board. Applicants with a felony conviction will be subject to review by the board to determine eligibility for licensure.
  • Must file an application and submit appropriate fees.
  • Must meet one of the following requirements: either completion of at least four years of practical experience as an apprentice OR must have a master level license in another jurisdiction.

If applying via completion of an apprenticeship program, the applicant will need to provide the board with evidence of having completed at least four years of practical experience as an apprentice. Beginning January 1, 2010, the four years of practical experience required must be from an apprenticeship training program registered by the United States Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship.

The application for licensure will not be processed until all required criteria are complete and the certificate of completion from the United States Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship has been issued.

General Master Requirements

  • Must be at least 18 years old.
  • An applicant must have no record of felony conviction relating to the profession as determined by the board. Applicants with a felony conviction will be subject to review by the board to determine eligibility for licensure.
  • Pass the state of Iowa Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board master licensing examination for the applicable discipline.
  • Must file an application and submit appropriate fees.

Fees

Prorated based on the length of time the license is issued and the trade level. See Fees link to the left for detailed rates.

Application Form