
Revised 9/7/2016 

 

Tattoo Establishment Application Form 
Iowa Department of Public Health 

Division of ADPER & EH/Tattoo Program 
321 E. 12th Street, Des Moines, IA  50319-0075 

(515) 242-6337

Type of application (check one):   Initial     □  Renewal     □ 

 
Please print legibly.  

 

Establishment Information 

Name:                   

Address:                

                               

   (City)    (State)    (Zip) 

Telephone:        Business Hours:         

*Please attach list of artists employed at your establishment.  If you are a new establishment, please attach a floor plan. 

 

Owner One Information 

Owner Name:                 

   (First)   (Middle)   (Last) 

Address:               

                             

   (City)    (State)    (Zip) 

 

*Social Security Number:                     Email:            

Telephone:         Cell Phone:             

*Privacy Act Notice:  Disclosure of your Social Security number on this license application is required by 42 U.S.C. Section 666(a)(13) 

and Iowa Code Section 252J.8(1).  The number will be used in connection with the collection of child support obligations and as an 

internal means to accurately identify licenses. 

 

Owner Two Information 

Owner Name:                 

   (First)   (Middle)   (Last) 

Address:               

                 

   (City)    (State)    (Zip) 

 

*Social Security Number:                     Email:             

Telephone:         Cell Phone:              
* Required, see Privacy Act Notice Above 

 
An annual, nonrefundable application fee of $100.00 shall be payable by check or money order to the Iowa Department of Public 
Health.  Remit fee with application form.  Cash is not acceptable.  

 
Mail completed application, floor plan, and fee to address shown at the top of this application.  Permits expire each year on 
December 31st.  The department will act within 60 days upon receiving a completed application. The permit to operate will be 
issued to a new establishment only after the establishment has successfully completed an onsite inspection.  Tattoo establishment 
owners shall be billed $250.00 for each tattoo establishment inspection.  You may visit the website at 
http://idph.iowa.gov/tattoo/establishments or call (515) 242-6337 for inspection information.  

http://idph.iowa.gov/tattoo/establishments
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Required Tattoo Permit Questions: 
 

For each “Yes” answer to the following questions, you must provide a separate statement 

giving full details, including dates, locations, actions, organizations or parties involved 

and specified reasons.  At the discretion of the Bureau, more supporting information  

may be requested. 

 

Has any state or other jurisdiction of the United States or any other nation ever   

limited, restricted, warned, censured, placed on probation, suspended, revoked, or  

otherwise disciplined a professional license or permit issued to your establishment? 

If yes, include date, location, reason, current status, etc. 

                                                                                                                                   Yes      No   

  

 

 

Has your establishment ever been sued in connection with your tattoo professional 

functions in this or any other state?  

If yes, include date, location, reason, current status etc. 

Yes      No  

 

 

Signature: 

 

I attest that this establishment will only employ appropriately permitted tattoo artists to 

practice tattooing activities.  This establishment will encourage all artists to maintain 

their certifications according to Iowa Administrative Code 641--Chapter 22.  This 

establishment and tattoo artists will follow the work practice standards in Iowa 

Administrative Code 641--Chapter 22 for conducting tattoo activities at all times.   

 

I hereby certify that the information I have provided in this document, including any  

attachments, is true and correct.  I understand that providing false or misleading 

information in or concerning my application may be cause for denial or revocation of 

certification and criminal prosecution. 

 

 

 

Signature of owner:  ______________________________________________________ 

 

Signature of owner 2 (if applicable): __________________________________________  

 

Date: _____________________________________ 

   
 
      
 
 
 
 

 


