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Respiratory Care Practitioner 
Documentation Required for Licensure 

 
 Application and fee ($120 + cost of the FBI and DCI background check = $55). All application 

fees are nonrefundable. To apply, do one of the following:  
 

1. Create an account, apply and pay online at: 
https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/PublicPortal/Iowa/IBPL/common/index.jsp, OR 

2. Request an application packet and return it with a check or money order payable to the 
Iowa Board of Respiratory Care and Polysomnography: 
http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Respiratory-Care/Licensure/Application-
Request-Form.    

 
 Examination Requirement – Applicant must provide proof of achieving the Certified Respiratory 

Therapist (CRT) or Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) certification by the NBRC. Proof of 
CRT or RRT Certification can be one of the following: 
 

1. Exam scores sent directly from the NBRC. 
 

2. Notarized copy of a certificate showing proof of achievement of the CRT or RRT 
credential awarded by the NBRC. 

 
3. A notarized score report showing proof of successful completion of the Therapist 

Multiple Choice Exam, State Clinical Exam, or Certified Respiratory Therapist Exam. 
 

 Background Check Requirement – Applicant will receive a packet from the Board office in the 
mail. The packet will be sent after an applicant submits an online licensing application or with 
the paper application (if requested). The packet includes two items that must be returned to the 
Board office before the license can be issued: 
 

1. Two fingerprint cards. Take the fingerprint cards to a local law enforcement agency for 
completion. Submit the completed fingerprint cards to the Board office. 

2. Background check waiver form. Read and sign the waiver form. Return it with the 
completed fingerprint cards. 

 
 Verification of licenses held in other states (if any): 

 
Applicants that have been previously licensed, registered or certified in any other state 
must provide official verification of licensure in the other state(s). The license verification 
must include license issue date, expiration date and any pending or past disciplinary action. 
The verification may be printed from another state licensing board’s website if it contains all 
of the required information. If web based verification is not available, the verification must 
be send directly to the Board office by the state(s) where the applicant has been licensed, 
registered, or certified. If the applicant has never been licensed in another state, ignore this 
item. 
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