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Hearing Aid Specialist 
Documentation Required for Licensure 

 
 Application and fee ($156). All application fees are nonrefundable. To apply, do one of the 

following:  
 

1. Create an account, apply and pay online at: 
https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/PublicPortal/Iowa/IBPL/common/index.jsp, OR 

2. Print, complete and return a paper application with a check or money order payable to 
the Iowa Board of Hearing Aid Specialists: 
http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/Files/Licensure/HAD%20APPLICATION%201.7.14.pdf.   

 
 Examination Requirement - Passing examination score transmitted directly from the 

International Hearing Society to the Board office. 
 

 Completed Supervision Form - If the applicant currently holds a temporary license to dispense 
hearing aids in Iowa, the applicant must provide a completed Hearing Aid Specialist Schedule 
for Supervision Form. 
http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/userfiles/26/HAS/HAS%20Schedule%20for%20Supervision%20
Form.pdf. 
 

 If the applicant has ever been licensed to dispense hearing aids in another state, he/ she must 
also provide the information detailed in items 1 – 3 below: 
 

1. Official verification of licensure sent directly to the Board office by any state where the 
applicant has been licensed, registered, or certified. The license verification must 
include license issue date, expiration date and any pending or past disciplinary action. 
The verification may be printed from another state licensing board’s website if it 
contains all of the required information. If web based verification is not available, the 
verification must be send directly to the Board office by the state(s) where the applicant 
has been licensed, registered, or certified. If the applicant has never been licensed in 
another state, ignore this item. 
 

2. Official verification of one of the following: 
 A passing score on the national examination, OR 
 A passing score on an examination the board determines is equivalent to the 

national examination, OR 
 Current certification from the National Board for Certification in Hearing 

Instrument Sciences. 
 

3. Evidence of one of the following: 
 Completion of 32 continuing education hours within the 24 months prior to 

application for an Iowa license, OR 
 Continuing education certificates that verify the minimum hours of continuing 

education required by the state in which the licensee is currently licensed have 
been met, OR 

 Current certification from the National Board for Certification in Hearing 
Instrument Sciences. 

https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/
http://www.idph.iowa.gov/licensure
mailto:PLPublic@idph.iowa.gov
https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/PublicPortal/Iowa/IBPL/common/index.jsp
http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/Files/Licensure/HAD%20APPLICATION%201.7.14.pdf

