
2016 Renewal of an Iowa Hearing Aid Specialist License 
License Number  

Last Name, First Name  
Mailing Address  

City, State, Zip Code  

E-mail address  

Phone 1  

Phone 2  

*SSN  

Privacy Act Notice: Disclosure of your Social Security Number on this renewal application is required by 42 U.S.C. § 
666(a)(13) and Iowa Code §  252J.8(1).  The number will be used in connection with the collection of child support obligations and 
as an internal means to accurately identify licensees, and may be shared with taxing authorities as allowed by law including Iowa 
Code § 421.18. 

 
Step Two - What is the renewal fee and when is it due? 
The renewal fee is $60.00.  Check or money order must be payable to the Iowa Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers. Renew your license 
before the expiration date to avoid a late fee or lapse in licensure. The board office strongly suggests the application and fee be 
postmarked on or before December 1.  
 
When is the late fee due? 
• To avoid the late fee, this completed application must be postmarked by the license expiration date of December 31. 
• A $60 late fee plus the $60 renewal fee are required on all applications postmarked in the grace period: “Grace period” means 

the 30-day period following expiration of a license when the license is still considered to be active; January 1st through January 
30.  In order to renew a license during the grace period, a licensee is required to pay the $60.00 late fee. 

• Renewal applications postmarked after the “Grace period” will not be processed.  The license will automatically be placed on 
inactive status.   

• Allow four weeks to process the paper renewal.  Once approved, a new wallet card will be sent to you 
 
Inactive License 
• A licensee who fails to renew the license by the end of the “Grace period” has an inactive license.  A licensee whose license is inactive 

continues to hold the privilege of licensure in Iowa, but may not practice as a hearing aid dispenser in Iowa until the license is reactivated. 
• The ‘Application for Reactivation of an Iowa License’ must be completed and filed to regain active license status: 

http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Hearing-Aid-Dispensers/Licensure/Reactivation 
 
Iowa Law and Administrative Rules 
• To receive a paper copy of the current Iowa Law and Administrative Rules include an additional $5.00. To view the current Iowa Law and 

Administrative Rules online: http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Hearing-Aid-Dispensers/Laws-and-Rules 
 

Step Three - The following five judgment questions must be answered. 
If you answer “Yes” to any question below, (1) attach a signed letter of explanation providing the details of the incident, (2) attach a copy of any 
court ordered evaluations, showing completion and recommendations, and (3) attach a copy of all official court documents regarding your 
conviction/malpractice suit, including final disposition and/or settlement.  You must answer “Yes” even when a conviction or judgment has been 
deferred or expunged from your record.  SINCE 01/01/2015 HAVE YOU: 
 

Yes No Been convicted, found guilty of, or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to a felony or misdemeanor crime (other than minor 
traffic violations with fines under $500)? If you have already reported this incident to the licensing board you do not need to 
report it again. 

Yes No Had any judgments or settlements paid on your behalf as a result of a malpractice suit or claim filed against you? If you have 
already reported this incident to the licensing board you do not need to report it again. 

Yes No Been investigated by a licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization? If the investigation or action was 
instituted by this licensing board you may answer “NO” to this question. 

Yes No Been disciplined or sanctioned by any other licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization related to your 
professional practice? If this licensing board took the disciplinary action, you may answer “NO” to this question. 

Yes No Been engaged in illegal or improper use of drugs or other chemical mood altering substances? (If you are currently a 
participant in the Impaired Practitioner Review Committee, you may answer "NO" to this question.) 

 
 

Continue on side two 
 
 
 
 
 



2016 Renewal of an Iowa Hearing Aid Specialist License 
 

Step Four – Mandatory Reporter Training Requirements. You must check the one statement below that applies to you. 
• For a list of approved curricula go to:  http://idph.iowa.gov/abuse-ed-review 
 
Are you employed in one of these settings? 
Foster care facility, head start program, hospital, intermediate care facility, juvenile detention center, juvenile home, juvenile shelter 
care facility, licensed child care center, mental health center, nursing facility, registered child care home, residential care facility, state 
mental health institute, state training school, or substance abuse program. 

  I am not employed in any of these settings. 

 
I am employed in one of these settings, but in the scope of my professional practice, I do not examine, attend, counsel, or treat 
dependent adults or children in Iowa 

 
I am employed in one of these settings, and in the scope of my professional practice, I examine, attend, or treat dependent 
adults and/or children in Iowa and have completed the course(s) within the last five years. 

  

I am exempt from the requirements for mandatory training for identifying and reporting dependent adult and/or child abuse 
because I was on active military duty during all or part of this continuing education biennium; 01/01/2015 through 
12/31/2016. 

  

I am exempt from the requirements for mandatory training for identifying and reporting dependent adult and/or child abuse 
due to a physical or mental disability or illness. My doctor and I have completed the ‘Application for Continuing Education 
Extension/Exemption for Disability or Illness. The application has been mailed to the board office and has been approved by 
the Board. 

 
Step Five – Continuing Education. You must check the one statement that applies to you 
• To review the continuing education rules, go to http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Hearing-Aid-Dispensers/Laws-

and-Rules 
• All required continuing education hours must be completed prior to renewing the license. 
• If you are selected for the audit, you will be required to submit continuing education information as instructed.  For auditing 

purposes, licensees must retain the information for two years after the biennium has ended.  

  This is my first renewal after initial licensure, continuing education isn’t required.  

  
I have completed the required 32 hours of continuing education, earned 01/01/2015 through 12/31/2016.  Note: If you are 
reporting continuing education for the first time, you may report hours earned from the date of your initial licensure.  

  

I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I am licensed and reside in another state or district having 
continuing education requirements for my profession.  I have met all continuing education requirements of that state or district 
for practice.  

  

I have been granted an extension of time to fulfill the continuing education requirements or I have been granted an exemption 
by the board (due to a physical or mental disability or illness). My doctor and I have completed the ‘Application for 
Continuing Education Extension/Exemption for Disability or Illness. The application has been mailed to the board office and 
has been approved by the Board. I have or am in the process of completing the requirements of my exemption.   

  
I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I was on active military duty during all or part of this 
continuing education biennium; 01/01/2015 through 12/31/2016.  

 
Step Six - Certification/Attestation Statement 
 
 I certify that I have carefully read the questions on this application and have answered them completely and truthfully. I 
declare under penalty of perjury that my answers, and all other statements or information submitted by me in this application process, 
are true and correct. If it is determined at any time that I have provided misleading or false information on or in support of this 
application, I understand that my license may be subject to disciplinary action and criminal prosecution.  
 
 I understand that this application is a public record in accordance with Iowa Code chapter 22 and that application information 
is public information, subject to the exceptions contained in Iowa law. In submitting this application, I consent to any reasonable 
inquiry, including a continuing education audit that may be necessary to verify the information I have provided on, or in conjunction 
with, this application.  
 

I attest that I do not have a medical condition which impairs or limits my ability to practice my profession with reasonable 
skill and safety and understand that I must notify the Board should such a condition arise which impairs or limits my ability to 
practice my profession with reasonable skill and safety. 
 
 
 
Licensee sign here         Date 
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