
2016 Renewal of a Cosmetology Salon License 
A salon shall be in full compliance with 645—Chapter 61 and 645—Chapter 63 to be eligible for renewal. 

Salon License No.  
Salon Name  

 Salon Address, you must 
provide the physical location. 

 

City, State, Zip Code  

Owner E-mail address  

Phone 1  

Phone 2  

Owner *SSN  

Salon Tax ID  

Privacy Act Notice: Disclosure of your Social Security Number on this renewal application is required by 42 U.S.C. § 
666(a)(13) and Iowa Code §  252J.8(1).  The number will be used in connection with the collection of child support obligations and 
as an internal means to accurately identify licensees, and may be shared with taxing authorities as allowed by law including Iowa 
Code § 421.18. 

 
Step Two - What is the renewal fee and when is it due? 
The renewal fee is $84.00. Check or money order must be payable to the Iowa Board of Cosmetology. Renew your license before the 
expiration date to avoid a late fee or lapse in licensure. The board office strongly suggests the application and fee be postmarked on or 
before December 1.  
 
When is the late fee due? 
• To avoid the late fee, this completed application must be postmarked by the license expiration date of December 31. 
• A $60 late fee plus the $84 renewal fee are required on all applications postmarked in the grace period: “Grace period” means 

the 30-day period following expiration of a license when the license is still considered to be active; January 1st through January 
30th.  In order to renew a license during the grace period, a licensee is required to pay the $60.00 late fee. 

• Renewal applications postmarked after the “Grace period” will not be processed.  The license will automatically be placed on 
inactive status.   

• Allow 3-4 weeks to process the paper renewal.  Once approved, a new wallet card will be sent to you.    
 
Inactive License 
• A salon that has not renewed the salon license by the end of the “Grace period” will have an inactive license and shall not 

provide cosmetology services until the license is reactivated. 
• The ‘Application for Reactivation of an Iowa License’ must be completed and filed to regain active license status: 

http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Cosmetology-Arts-and-Sciences/Licensure/Reactivation 
 

Administrative Rules 
• The Board amended Iowa Administrative Rules Chapters 645-60.5, 645-61.5(2)(3) and 645-63, effective 8/15/2016.  
• I would like a hard copy of the amended Iowa Law and Administrative Rules. I have included the additional $5.00. YES  NO  
• To view the current Iowa Law and Administrative Rules online: http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Cosmetology-

Arts-and-Sciences/Laws-and-Rules 
 
Step Three - The following five judgment questions must be answered by the owner(s) of the salon. 
If any salon owner answers “Yes” to any question below, (1) attach a signed letter of explanation providing the details of the incident, 
(2) attach a copy of any court ordered evaluations, showing completion and recommendations, and (3) attach a copy of all official 
court documents regarding your conviction/malpractice suit, including final disposition and/or settlement.  You must answer “Yes” 
even when a conviction or judgment has been deferred or expunged from your record.  SINCE 01/01/2015 HAVE ANY OF THE 
SALON OWNERS: 

Yes No Been convicted, found guilty of, or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to a felony or misdemeanor crime (other than minor 
traffic violations with fines under $500)? If you have already reported this incident to the licensing board you do not need to 
report it again. 

Yes No Had any judgments or settlements paid on your behalf as a result of a malpractice suit or claim filed against you? If you have 
already reported this incident to the licensing board you do not need to report it again. 

Yes No Been investigated by a licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization? If the investigation or action was 
instituted by this licensing board you may answer “NO” to this question. 

Yes No Been disciplined or sanctioned by any other licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization related to your 
professional practice? If this licensing board took the disciplinary action, you may answer “NO” to this question. 

Yes No Been engaged in illegal or improper use of drugs or other chemical mood altering substances? (If you are currently a 
participant in the Impaired Practitioner Review Committee, you may answer "NO" to this question.) 

 
Continue on side two 

 



2016 Renewal of a Cosmetology Salon License 
A salon shall be in full compliance with 645—Chapter 61 and 645—Chapter 63 to be eligible for renewal. 

 
Step Four – Please review the important information listed below. 
• A salon license shall be issued for a specific location. A change in location or site of a salon shall require submission 

of an application for a new license and payment of the fee.  
• A salon license is not transferable. A change in ownership of a salon shall require the issuance of a new license. 
• An owner shall notify the board in writing of a change of salon name within 30 days after the occurrence and, in 

addition, shall return the current certificate and pay the $20.00 reissued certificate fee. 
• Please look through the updated salon self-checklist to ensure your establishment meets the new infection control 

requirements: http://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/Iowa-Board-of-Cosmetology-Arts-and-Sciences/Licensure 
• Upon discontinuance of a salon, the original 8x10 salon license certificate shall be returned to the board office within 

30 days. 
 
Step Five - Please Read and Sign. 
 
 I certify that I have read and met all requirements pursuant to Iowa Administrative Rules Chapter 63 pertaining to 
sanitation regulations in the state of Iowa. 
 
 I certify that I have carefully read the questions on this application and have answered them completely and 
truthfully. I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers, and all other statements or information submitted by me in 
this application process, are true and correct. If it is determined at any time that I have provided misleading or false 
information on or in support of this application, I understand that my license may be subject to disciplinary action and 
criminal prosecution.  
 
 I also understand that this application is a public record in accordance with Iowa Code chapter 22 and that 
application information is public information, subject to the exceptions contained in Iowa law. Finally, in submitting this 
application, I consent to any reasonable inquiry that may be necessary to verify the information I have provided on, or in 
conjunction with, this application.  
 
  

    

  

  

Signature(s) of all salon owner(s), please print name clearly      Date 

    

    

    

    
OR Signature(s) of salon manager/supervisor – who must list all salon owners above.      
 

Date 

  
 
Mailing address for 
salon if different 
than the physical 
address for the 
salon. 
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