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IOWA PLUMBING AND MECHANICAL SYSTEMS BOARD 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAPER RENEWAL APPLICATION 

 
 

Completed applications may be submitted with applicable fees to:  
Iowa Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board 
Iowa Dept. of Public Health  
321 E 12th Street 
Des Moines, Iowa 50319 

 
An application is not considered complete and will not be processed until all items have been submitted as required, 
including renewal license fees and late fees if applicable. 

• Online applications must be submitted with credit or debit card information. 
• Paper application renewal fees must be submitted with check or money order payable to: Iowa Plumbing and 

Mechanical Systems Board. If submitting a paper application, a $25.00 paper application fee must be included 
in addition to other applicable fees. The paper application fee is waived for renewal applications that are 
submitted more than one year past the license expiration date. 

 
Part I – Applicant Information.  Please write legibly and complete each question.  Items with an * must be completed.  
Be sure to mark the box for the address you would like the board to use for all correspondence.  The city and state of the 
identified address may be listed on licensediniowa.gov along with license information or provided as part of public 
information requests.   
 
License Changes for Disciplines 
For all licenses issued after 07/01/2014, Iowa law provided that: 

• A single HVAC and single refrigeration licenses will be converted to a single HVAC/Refrigeration (HVAC/R) license.  
Licensees holding both an HVAC and a refrigeration license will be converted to a single HVAC/R license. 

• Licensees holding an HVAC/R license and a hydronics license at the same level of either journeyperson or master 
will be eligible to renew into a single license called a mechanical license. 

 
Part II– License Information.  Provide your license # and then mark the box(es) for each license that you wish to renew.  
If you are eligible to renew to a new mechanical license (must have current HVAC/R & hydronics license), check the box in 
the last column called mechanical.  If you would like to place any a license on inactive status, mark the appropriate box.  
Note that inactive status requires continuing education and you cannot work on an inactive license.   

 
Apprentice Renewal – To complete an apprentice renewal, update any changes to the US Department of Labor 
sponsorship information. There are no CEU requirements for an apprentice license. However, if more than 60 months 
have elapsed since the start date of your apprenticeship, your status will be confirmed with the US Department of Labor 
prior to issuance of the renewal license. 

 
Specialty License Renewal – To renew a Hearth Systems, Service Technician HVAC, Disconnect/ Reconnect Plumbing 
Technician, or Private School or College Routine Maintenance license, select the box for the appropriate license(s). 
Continuing education hours are required.  To renew a Medical Gas Piping Certification, mark the appropriate box and 
indicate your certification provider.  Provide your certification number, expiration date, and brazing number and 
expiration date.  No continuing education hours are required for medical gas piping certification as you must maintain 
current certification to renew.   
 

Visit our website at 
http://idph.iowa.gov/PMSB for additional 
information on licensure and continuing 
education requirements. 
For questions, call toll free (866) 280-1521. 

http://idph.iowa.gov/PMSB
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Journeyperson/Master Renewal by Examination Option – 
If a license has lapsed by more than 365 from the original expiration date, a licensee may renew by retaking 
continuing education hours or by sitting for the discipline examination. This section of the application should be used 
for those wishing to renew after completing an examination. 
 
CEU Exemptions.  – If you qualify for a CEU Exemption, please mark the appropriate box.  Be sure to answer the 
screening questions, sign and date the application, and submit with the appropriate fee. 
 

Part III–Continuing Education Courses.  To complete the continuing education section, you will need to identify the 
course name, date of course, course number, and hours of credit for each course. This information can be found on the 
certificate of completion provided by the course instructor. The Iowa Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board office does 
not have this information available for licensees. 
 
The board may conduct an audit of a licensee’s license renewal application to review compliance with continuing 
education requirements per Iowa Administrative Code r. 641—30.5(105).  It is important you maintain records of your 
CEU courses in the event you are later selected for an audit. 
 
*Note, if applying for renewal of a license that is 366 or more days past the original expiration date, CEU's must be taken on a 
date that is more than 365 days from the original expiration date. Ex: Original license expired 06/30/2014, then CEU's must be 
taken on or after 06/30/2015 to qualify for reinstatement of your license. These CEU's will not be eligible to renew any future 
license other than the current renewal license. 
 

Continuing education requirements for a specialty license/ journeyperson/or master license are as follows: 
Single License - 
Plumbing, HVAC/R, Hydronics, 
Sheet Metal, or Mechanical 

8 Total Hours of CEU 
2 Hours Safety 
2 Hours Code (Applicable Plumbing or Mechanical) 
4 Hours Discipline (Must be in current license discipline only.) 

Multiple Mechanical Discipline 
Licenses – Combination of 2 or 3 
mechanical licenses (HVAC/R, Hydronics, 
or Sheet Metal) 

14 Total Hours of CEU 
4 Hours of Safety 
2 Hours of Mechanical Code 
8 Hours of Discipline 
Note: The 8 hours of discipline CEU's may be obtained from one or any combination of 
discipline licenses held by the licensee. 

Multiple Licenses Renewed Same 
Time – Combination of 1 plumbing & 
1 or more mechanical licenses 
(HVAC/R, Hydronics, Sheet Metal, or 
Mechanical) 

16 Total Hours of CEU 
4 Hours of Safety 
2 Hours of Mechanical Code 
2 Hours of Plumbing Code 
8 Hours of Discipline 
Note: The 8 hours of discipline CEU's may be obtained from one or any combination of 
discipline licenses held by the licensee. 

Note: If you currently have licenses with different expiration dates, you may choose to renew them together to qualify for 
the multiple license renewal discount.  You must have enough continuing education hours for each separate license. 
 
Part IV - Screening Questions 
All questions must be answered for the application to be processed. If you answer “Yes” to any of the 
questions, your application may be referred to the board for additional review. You must answer “Yes” even 
when a conviction or judgment has been deferred or expunged from your record. Please provide any pertinent 
details with your application. 

 
Part V - Applicant’s Signature 
Read the statement, sign and date the application.  An applicant is responsible for the accuracy of the data,  
regardless of who completes and submits the applicant's licensure application. 
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Fee Information - Fees apply per discipline. Licenses that expire June 30th, 2014, will be assessed renewal fees 
based on the fee for expiration date of 07/01/2014 in the table below.  Applicants submitting a renewal application 
prior to the expiration date listed on their license will receive a prorated fee based on their current expiration date. 
 
 
 
 
Expiration Date of License 

Apprentice, 
Inactive & 
Discipline 

Specialty Licenses 

Medical 
Gas 
Pipe 

Journey Master IM/Active 
Journey 

Contractor 

07/01/2014 to 12/31/2014 $50.00 $75.00 $180.00 $240.00 $230.00 $250.00 
01/01/2015 to 06/30/2015 $41.70 $62.55 $150.12 $200.16 $191.82 $208.50 
07/01/2015 to 12/31/2015 $33.35 $50.03 $120.06 $160.08 $153.41 $166.75 
01/01/2016 to 06/30/2016 $25.00 $37.50 $90.00 $120.00 $115.00 $125.00 
07/01/2016 to 12/31/2016 $16.65 $24.98 $59.94 $79.92 $76.59 $83.25 
01/01/2017 to 06/30/2017 $8.35 $12.53 $30.06 $40.08 $38.41 $41.75 
Paper Application Fee - A $25.00 paper application fee is required for each application submitted. A paper 
application received without the fee included will be returned as incomplete.  However, the paper 
application fee will be waived if you are renewing a license that expired more than one year ago as these 
applications cannot be completed online. 

Multiple License Discount - A “combined license” of more than one active master, contractor, or journeyperson 
license in one or multiple disciplines held by the same individual will be given a 30% discount on the sum total of the 
separate license fees.  All licenses must be purchased in a single transaction.  The paper application fee and any late 
fees are NOT subject to the 30% discount.  Add this amount to the license fees due. 
Late Fees – An application postmarked 31 days or more after the license expiration date will be considered late and 
will not be processed without appropriate late fees.  The late fee is not eligible for the 30% discount. 
Days Late Fees  Due New Expiration Date Eligible to Work 
1-30 days $0.00 Late Fee + cost of renewal license per discipline 06/30/2017 Yes 
31-60 days $60.00 Late Fee + cost of renewal license per discipline 06/30/2017 Yes 
61-365 days $60.00 Late Fee + cost of renewal license per discipline 06/30/2017 No 
366 + days Full fee due – use the expiration date of 07/01/2014 to 

determine fee amount.  No paper application fee due. 
06/30/2017 No 

 
EXAMPLE: Renewing a Journey plumbing license and hydronics license that expired 1/9/2016.  Find the fee due for each license from the 
chart above (find the expiration date of the license and license level).  If renewing both licenses, a 30% discount applies to the license fee: 

• Renewal app submitted within 30 days of expiration date: $90 + $90 = $180 less 30% discount = $126 due for online renewal; if 
submitting paper application, fee due is $90+$90=$180 less 30% discount =$126 + $25 paper app fee = $151 total due 

• Renewal app submitted 31 days – less than one year late: $90+$90 renewal fee for each license =$180 less 30% discount=$126 + 
$60 late fee +$60 late fee for each license = $246 due, plus paper app fee if applicable 

• Renewal submitted over one year late - $180 + $180 = $360. No discount. No prorated fee. Paper app fee waived. 
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