
Adolescents & the Iowa Law 
 

According to Iowa law, a minor (an individual younger than 18 years) may 

seek medical care for the following without the permission or knowledge of 

his/her parents: 

 Substance abuse treatment; 

 Sexually transmitted infection (STI) testing and treatment; 

 HIV testing – if test is positive, Iowa law requires parent notification; 

 Contraceptive care and counseling, including emergency contraception; 

and 

 Blood donation if 17 years of age or older. 
 

Even through teenagers and young adults can receive these treatments 

without their parent’s knowledge, it is important to remember parents are a 

key part of all aspects of a teen’s life.  Parents and teens are encouraged to 

be open and honest with each other when it comes to healthcare decisions. 
 

It is important for teens to know that if they are covered by their parents’ 

medical insurance and want it to cover their treatment, they will need to 

consent to their medical records being shared – possibly even with parents. 
 

A minor may also consent for evaluation and treatment in a medical 

emergency or following a sexual assault.  However, treatment information 

can not be kept confidential from parents. 
 

Iowa has not adopted the mature minor doctrine. 
 

An emancipated minor is one who is married (or ever married) or is one who: 

 Is absent from the parental home with parent consent, 

 Is self-supporting, receiving no financial income from parents,  

 And, an inconsistent relationship with being a part of the family of 

the parent exits. 

 

Iowa has a parental notification law with respect to abortion performed on 

minors.  Health care providers must notify a parent, legal guardian, 

custodian, or grandparent 48 hours prior to performing an abortion on a 

minor.  This applies to teens 17 years old and younger, unless they are 

married or have ever been married. 

 



If a minor chooses not to notify a parent, legal guardian, custodian, or 

grandparent, she can seek a judicial waiver. 

 

Exceptions to the parental notification law with respect to providing 

abortions to minors include: 

 Parent provides written authorization for the abortion 

 Minor declares she is the victim of child abuse and that abuse has been 

reported to DHS 

 Minor declares she is the victim of sexual abuse and that abuse has been 

reported to law enforcement officials 

 Physician certifies a medical emergency exits, necessitating an abortion 

to avert minor’s death or serious impairment of a major bodily function 

 

The legal age of consent for sexual intercourse in Iowa is 16 years old. 

(This excludes persons covered by the Iowa Mandatory reporter laws.) 
 

Person 14 and 15 years of age may consent to sex with a person within 48 

months of their age. 

 

Persons less than 13 years of age cannot legally consent to sexual 

intercourse. 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Resources: 

Youth Law Center   Center for Adolescent Health & the Law 

218 6th Ave.    www.cahl.org     

Des Moines, IA  50309 

(515) 244-1172   National Center for Youth Law 

    www.youthlaw.org  

 

 

http://www.cahl.org/
http://www.youthlaw.org/

