
Emergency Medical Care Provider Affirmative Renewal Application 
Iowa Department of Public Health 

Bureau of Emergency Medical Services 

Lucas State Office Building 

321 East 12th Street 

Des Moines, Iowa 50319 

 
Name:  

 

Certification #:  

Address:  

 

 

City, State, Zip:  

 

CERT. PERIOD:  

 

Please complete this Affirmative Renewal form and return to the Bureau of EMS PRIOR to your Iowa EMS certification’s expiration date.

                

1. How many TOTAL continuing education hours (CEHs) did you complete during your certification period? 

 
 

2. How many FORMAL (FE) CEHs did you complete during your certification period? 

 
 

 

 
 

YES 

 

NO 

3. Do you have a current course completion card in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, AED, and obstructed airway 

 procedures for all age groups according to recognized national standards? 
  

4. If an EMS Instructor, did you attend a department-sponsored workshop?   N/A    
5. If you hold a Critical Care Paramedic endorsement, were at least 8 CEHs from approved core curriculum 

 topics?          N/A  
  

6. If an FR, EMT-B or PS, have you completed all transition requirements (available at 

http://www.idph.state.ia.us/ems / Transition.aspx)? N/A  

 

  

 

During your certification period have you:  YES NO 

1. Developed any medical condition(s), which in any way impairs or limits your ability to provide emergency 

 medical care? 
  

2. Been engaged in the illegal or improper use of drugs or other chemical substance?   
3. Been convicted of, found guilty, or entered a plea of no contest to a felony or misdemeanor crime (other than 

 minor traffic volitions with fines under $100.00) You must answer “yes” even if the matter has been deferred 

 or expunged from the record. 

  

4. Had any state or other jurisdiction of the United States or any other nation limit, restrict, warn, censure, place 

 on probation, suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline a license issued to you? 
  

5. Been sued in connection with your emergency medical functions in this state or another state?   
 

I hereby certify that the information provided on this application form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  I understand that 

providing false or misleading information may result in the denial, probation, suspension, or revocation of my certification(s).  I also 

understand that I am required to update answers or information submitted herewith if the response or the information changes.  In submitting 

this application, I consent to any reasonable inquiry that may be necessary to verify or clarify the information I have provided on or in 

conjunction with this application. 

 

 

 

               

  Applicant’s Signature        Date 

 

Renewal Fees: FR/EMR/EMT-B/EMT No Fee   EMT-I/AEMT $10.00    EMT-PS/PARAMEDIC $25.00      Late Fee - $30.00 

 

If renewing late you must submit audit information, certification fee and late fee. 

An audit report form is available from the Bureau’s website. www.idph.state.ia.us/ems/certification.asp 

 

DO NOT SEND CASH.  Make checks payable to IDPH, Bureau of EMS 

Mail this completed form and fee to the address above 


